Have you been diagnosed with unexplained infertility? A ReceptivaDX test may  help reveal the underlying cause. The test checks for BCL6 which is highly associated with endometriosis, a leading cause of unexplained infertility. 

Many women with endometriosis struggle to get pregnant,  naturally or through Assisted Reproductive Technology like IVF. An infertility doctor may recommend this test to determine if endometriosis is the cause of your infertility. If the results are positive, you’ll receive a personalized treatment to help you conceive.

Types of Endometriosis by Anatomical Location

Endometriosis is a condition in which the epithelial tissues lining the uterus during ovulation grow elsewhere. The tissues may develop in the fallopian tube and block eggs from meeting the sperm. During ovulation, the abnormal uterine tissues may break down and bleed as normal but will be trapped with nowhere to exit. BCL6,  BCL6 endometriosis, and ReceptivaDx all refer to the same thing. A test to uncover endometriosis as the leading cause of infertility. Endometriosis can cause pain, heavy bleeding, and other symptoms but may also be completely asymptomatic (no symptoms). The condition can prevent you from getting pregnant. Women with unexplained infertility caused by  endometriosis often have high levels of the BCL66 protein. Taking a ReceptivaDx test can provide insights for further diagnosis and the search for the uterine tissues growing in the wrong places and causing fertility issues.. Here’s an overview of the types of endometriosis:

1.    Superficial Peritoneal Endometriosis

Endometrial tissues can attach to the peritoneum membrane, causing one of the least severe forms of endometriosis. The peritoneum membrane is a thin membrane lining the abdomen, pelvis, and other organs within these cavities. 

2.    Endometrioma (Ovarian Lesion) Endometriosis

Chocolate cysts or endometriomas are dark, fluid-filled cyst-like formations. Endometriomas vary in size and may appear in different parts of the pelvis and abdomen. They’re also common in the ovaries and can grow into significant sizes that prevent fertilization.

3.    DIE (Deeply Infiltrating Endometriosis)

Deeply infiltrating endometriosis occurs when the endometrial tissues invade your organs within or outside the pelvic cavity. The growth can happen in the bladder, bowels, rectum, ovaries, and other places. DIE is rare but can result in scarring and bond organs together, causing a frozen pelvis.

4.    Abdominal Wall Endometriosis

Endometrial cells can grow on the abdominal wall or attach to surgical incisions after a C-section. This type of endometriosis may remain asymptomatic through the different stages and is less severe than DIE and cysts.

Types of Endometriosis by Stage

Endometriosis has different stages of severity If your RexeptivaDx test comes positive, you may consider laparoscopy to definitively  diagnose and treat it.. The American Society for Reproductive Medicine groups the diagnosis into four primary stages of endometriosis severity; Stage 1, 2, 3, & 4.

Staging is based on the location, extent (affected area), depth of the tissue implants, and adhesion severity. Infertility doctors will also look for the presence and size of ovarian lesions.

  • Stage 1 (1 – 5 points): At this stage, the endometriosis is considered minimal, with a few superficial implants and mild adhesions.
  • Stage 2 Endometriosis (6 – 15 Points): The second stage of endometriosis features slightly deeper implants and firm adhesions.
  • Stage 3 Endometriosis (16 – 40): Stage three endometriosis is marked by small ovarian lesions (chocolate cysts), deeper scarring, and firm lesions.
  • Stage 4 Endometriosis (40+):  At stage four, the implants are deep, and chocolate cysts are large with multiple dense adhesions and more scarring.

Endometriosis can affect your pelvic structures and cause extensive adhesions. Other tissues block your fallopian tube and cause scarring. Such factors will influence the endometriosis stage, but the symptoms don’t necessarily worsen with each stage. You may experience severe pain and other symptoms during Stages 1 and 2, while Stage 5 can be asymptomatic. 

The Endometrial Foundation of America (EFA) recommends identifying the category of endometriosis, which is more descriptive. Infertility doctors can pinpoint the location of the abnormal growth, its extent, and the best treatment. The ReceptivaDX test is a good start as it can indicate the presence of abnormal endometrial tissues prompting further diagnosis regardless of stage

Determining the Type of Endometriosis

An infertility doctor will run a medical background check and recommend various tests. The goal is to determine what’s causing infertility, but some cases are unexplained. If the doctor can’t pinpoint the cause of infertility, consider a ReceptivaDx test to rule out endometriosis. A negative result almost nullifies the chances of endometriosis. If you test positive, endometriosis is a likely diagnosis.

Popular tests include ultrasound, MRI, and CT scans that examine your pelvic organs. A infertility doctor may also use laparoscopy to find and remove adhesions and scar tissues. Endometriosis tests and scans can be expensive and may yield no result, so we recommend ReceptivaDx first. You can proceed with other diagnoses to locate the endometriosis if your test is positive. 

Trustworthy BCL6 Testing for Endometriosis

Endometriosis affects many women and can be the cause of unexplained infertility. If you’ve tried unsuccessfully to conceive and your fertility doctor can’t determine why, you should consider testing for BCL6 endometriosis. 

You can take the ReceptivaDX test through your infertility doctor to find out if endometriosis is a possible cause of your infertility. Treating endometriosis will boost your chances of a successful implantation and IVF procedure.

Share this article: